Clayton Lykins Home
This house was built for Dr. William H. Campbell in the summer of 1877 by a local contractor, Joshua Fitch. Dr. Campbell served in the Union army in the Civil War. He first located in Concord and came to Vanceburg in 1875, where he practiced medicine until his death.
In his later years, Dr. Campbell operated a pharmacy in partnership with Dr. A.B. Elliott at the northeast corner of Second and Main. Following his death in 1899, his widow, Elizabeth, left Vanceburg with their son, Harry.
The house is basically the same as when it was built. The wooden decoration are unique and the house is one of the few in Vanceburg that has retained them.