These two buildings were the original structures of the Deposit Bank of Vanceburg and the New York Racket Store. The Bank was established about 1889 and this building was erected of freestone in 1900. The bank merged with the Citizens Bank later to become the Citizens-Deposit Bank.
The building on the corner is unique because it is one of the first types of iron-framed buildings and was built about 1900, and the moldings have a certain interesting style. Moses Marcus came here from Cincinnati before 1905 and opened a stylish men’s clothing store which he called the New York Racket Store.